Visar inlägg med etikett Islam. Visa alla inlägg
Visar inlägg med etikett Islam. Visa alla inlägg

söndag, januari 30

Freeeeeeeeedooooom!

I'm very, nay, extremely, seldom emotionally moved by events in the news. I dunno exactly why, but I guess it has to do with my personality in general; I always want to take a detached, analytic stance to everything, appeal to reason and caution. In part, I'm convinced that this is a good thing; for example, it makes me detest culture-chauvinistic hysteria of various kinds, and I might often have good arguments against such stupidity. On the other hand, it might make me appear inconsiderate or insensitive to others, and I'm not convinced that it, to begin with, stems entirely from positive factors in my subconscious.

Anyhow, I find myself genuinely moved by the ongoing revolution in Egypt. Or, well, it's to early to tell if it's really a revolution, but I really really hope it is. (Not lame-ass reform, we want to see revolution here). I dunno why. It probably has something to do with the fact that I studied islamology last fall, giving me many further insights into (and feelings for) the muslim world, past and present. Also, it began on my birthday ^_^

Maybe I'm fed up with that particular modern type of dictator that Mubarak represents; the pseudo-democratic. The world is filled with psychotic bastards who hide behind a façade of democracy (This guy is a good example), and they get nowhere near the same amount of shit from the West as more honest tyrants do. The US, fucktards that they are, have often been known to ally with them to various degrees, something they'd never do with Kim Jong-Il or the junta in Myanmar, just because of the shitstorm they'd get if they did. If you just pretend to be democratic, it'll work fine though, and you can basically reign supreme and abuse your subjects for 30 years without anyone noticing...


Do western countries, or the democratic world for that matter, now call for Mubarak to resign? No they don't. They whine a little about "listening to the people", or at the very best, call for reform. If any single country have officially taken the Egyptian people's side in all this, please point it out to me; I sure can't find it.

And the Egyptian people's side is quite clear by now. They want their asshole president-for-life to step down. It's not too much to ask, after 30 years of blatant abuse of power. But oh, nooo! Mubarak is to important to the security in the middle east! Islamists could take over! (As if. And I'd love to see the reaction from Israel in the unlikely event that they did).

(I, of course, use the term "people" somewhat vaguely here. There are, of course, supporters of Mubarak in Egypt, it's not like everyone hates his guts (those in power always need the support of a clique). But it's significant enough how many that does, and the sheer magnitud of their frustration and anger).

His people fucking want him gone. By not openly and honestly supporting them, the "democratic" world has yet again shown its true colors (something in distinct shades of brown and blue). I am well aware of Egypt's importance in global and regional affairs (that's partly why I feel more for these events than I do for Tunisia), and yes, of course there are political issues to considered, but it was we, the west, that fucked the world up to begin with, and it should therefore be our fucking responsibility to do all we can to fix it.

Just imagine if TV had subtitles that told you what stuff was really about, beneath the continental crust-thick layers of bullshit:



The next video is something I'm gonna post here because I think everyone (and their grandmother) should see it. I'm getting a bit heart-tugged by the bearded guy who angrily, passionately and tearfully shouts: "We will not be silenced! Whether you're christian, whether you're muslim, whether you're an atheist, you will demand your goddamn rights, and we will have our rights, one way or the other! We will never be silenced!"

Could the quote of the year be here already?

tisdag, mars 31

Takbīr!

Det här fantastiska lilla klippet sprider sig som en löpeld just nu:



De ansvariga är alltså...nej vänta, jag vill att folk från Jänkistan ska kunna läsa det här, låt oss byta språk.

A similar clip about Malmö have circulated before, it was from FOX back then. That time, though, you could at least try to believe that they were just sadly mistaken about issues in Sweden, and had bought into the whole american "Europe is getting overrun by muslims! Oh noes!"-lunacy.

Of course, I should have known better. It was FOX, after all.

This time, it's from CBN, a right-wing, christian tv network, and it's downright propaganda, easily on par with things you'd see on chinese television in the 80s. Observe, for example, how they readily clump leftists, muslims, arabs and anarchists together in one big block of enemies of society. That's one of the oldest tricks in the book.

I won't even bother to pick this shit apart, it'll likely be apparent to every sane swede just how bigoted and vile it is. If any american whatsoever should ever happen to read this, though, you should know that the Sweden democrats that are almost the only ones CBN interviews are actually a very small party, not even qualified for parliament, and widely considered right-wing extremist among the broad swedish population. They're in fact so impopular, nay, despised, that all political parties in the parliament downright refuse to collaborate with them.

And, about that pro-israeli demonstration...it consisted of a small group of zionists that demanded solidarity with a state that elsewhere, at the very same time, were killing palestinians civilians in Gaza. It seems to me like you almost should expect a violent reaction to that.

Instead, I would like to complement CBN for, for once, making me fucking proud to be a swede. I am proud to be one of those leftists/arabs/muslims/anarchists that you people so despise. I would also like to thank all arabs and muslims (and kurds and persians and all other immigrants, for that matter, whatever their religion or ethnicity) for coming here. Yes, there have been problems, many immigrants have been relegated to poor suburbs and caught in crime and poverty. It's bad, and sad...

But the immigrants have also contributed greatly to society in every imaginable way. They've worked, started companies, created awesome culture, and generally been really nice to have around. The most interesting areas in history have always been those that were crossroads of cultures. That's where ideas and inventions are exchanged and spread. Americans always claim proudly that their country were built by immigrants. Why, then, would immigration suddenly be a bad thing? Because the arabs are poor? So were the swedes and irish that came to America. Because the arabs are different? So were the chinese that came to America, not to mention the various european sects that sought refuge from persecution there.

No, it's because the arabs are muslims, of course. They threathen the true faith. They're evil terrorists, all of them. They all want to mutilate vulvas, force everyone to grow a beard and forbid all things enjoyable in life. *sigh*

And yeah, let's not forget...they've got oil.

Multiculturalism is a good, good thing - history strongly seem to suggest that cultures that isolate themselves eventually stagnates culturally, technologically and socially, and become backward and totalitarian. (That's the way the US are going right now). Dynamic, tolerant and multicultural societies have always achieved more.

And they always will.